A not so foreign city

Sadly this summer I won’t be able to spend it all in my beautiful country. The exciting part of it is that I will be working as PR practitioner with a non-profit organization! I’m really excited for this great opportunity to start shaping my future. I decided to go down south and spend 2 weeks with my mom and my dad and also let’s be real I’m a “warm weather” kind of person, my skin needed the sun.

I can not explain the feeling of being home. I love my home town, it is small but precious at the same time. It is really touristy and has the Spanish heritage from back years from the European invasion. For those who live away from home you will understand that feeling of hugs of your mom and the food that she makes is the best thing on this planet. Im writing this and i get some back tears.

For me being home is the best feeling that I can’t explain.

But as always there are the ups and downs, in this case the downs are that every time I leave Halifax part of me stays there and my other half goes with me to Mexico. I find that, that is the hardest about living and dividing my time in 2 different cities and countries. One of my close friends told me once, that when she went home during the summer she didn’t feel like she belonged there anymore. At the beginning when she told me this I said to her, I don’t feel that way.

The ups, is that this time I got to bring my best friend Mati with me. We spend time in my hometown and just relaxed. Also how I said before I got to spend time with both of my parents that I miss so much when I’m away. Im really close to my mom, she is my best friend and also my incredible cheerleader and every chance I get going south just to see her is the best I could do. I also spend time with my dad haha but he travels a little bit more to visit me than my mom so i get to spend a lot of time when he comes to visit in Halifax.

Halifax has become my second home, and how i told my mom “english has become my first language”. And it was on the trip to Mexico this time that I realized all of the changes that I have encounter, as a person I have changed and I’m starting to find myself comfortable with the country I once was a stranger to.

I hope those that leave abroad can relate to me. And the feeling of belonging to another country that is not the one you were born or raised in can relate to my story. But I want to say that I  will always and forever will hold Mexico as my country and in my heart. And i will always feel proud to were I come from.

-A

Leave a comment